Steampunk scenery

Steampunk. The word that I found baffling. I had no idea what steampunk was. After doing some research, I found out that steampunk is a sub-genre of science fiction that usually features steam-powered machinery, especially in a setting inspired by industrialized Western civilization during the 19th century, or a post apocalyptic environment. Steampunk works usually feature technologies powered using steam power and are set in the 19th century’s British Victorian era or American Wild West, where steampower is the main usage in technologies. Steampunk is also set in a fictional world that has modern or bizzare technologies powered using steam power. The characteristics of steampunk in a steampunk artwork is also seen through its fashion, culture and architectural styles during the 19th century. I am not familiar with steampunk, however, after seeing some steampunk artworks, I am definitely impressed by the creativity and peculiarity of this genre of art. I recall watching several movies that have incorporated steampunk into their setting and technologies. One of those movies is Stardust. My steampunk artwork is inspired by the flying ship seen in the movie. I chose to put emphasis on the flying ship sailing from an “island port” where there are factories and other flying ships docked at the port. In the background, smoke can be seen billowing out of factories to symbolize the industrial revolution when factories were going full blast, producing goods and environment wasn’t really on people’s minds during the time.

Here are some examples of steampunk artworks.

My inspiration.

My steampunk artwork

Leave a comment